Showing 1–48 of 174 results

Serie A is the top flight professional football league in Italy.  It operates as a round robin tournament by which each team will play all other teams home and away during the course of the season.  The winner is awarded the Scudetto and the Coppa Campioni d’Italia.  Scudetto is Italian for a little shield.  It was created in the 1920s and the first team to wear it was Genoa C.F.C in 1924.  Following this, it was adopted across other sports including Italian Rugby Union in 1928.  It is essentially a badge worn by Italian teams who have won their annual league, in the previous season.

The Coppa Campioni d’Italia is the actual trophy that is awarded to the victors of the Serie A Championship.  The cup was created in 1960 by Ettore Calvelli.  It is 45cm tall and weighs around 5 kilograms.  The trophy rests on a stone and golden base which displays all the teams to have won Seria A since 1960-1961.  The value of the trophy is estimated at 60,000 Euros.

Serie A is considered to be one of the best football leagues in the world.  Some consider it the best defensive league in the world and the most tactical national league.  It is currently ranked fourth in the European football leagues, based on UEFA’s league coefficients.  The English Premier League, German Bundesliga and Spanish La Liga are all considered better leagues.  France’s Ligue 1 is ranked below Serie A.

The best three clubs in Serie A are also considered some of the most famous clubs in the world.  These are Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan, all of whom are founding members of G-14.  Serie A have the proud accolade of having the most players to have won the Ballon d’Or award whilst playing the league.  Spain’s La Liga do however the highest number of Ballon d’Or winners.  Of the 100 best footballers to have played, 42 of these have played in Serie A

Juventus are considered the most successful Italia club, although they have been charged with match-fixing and other scandals.  The Seven Sisters of Italian football are Juventus, Milan, Inter, Fiorentina, Lazio, Napoli and Roma.