Showing 1–48 of 98 results

Swansea City is a Welsh professional football league club who play in the EFL Championship, the second tier of English football.  The club was founded as Swansea Town and joined the English Football League in 1921.  Swansea changed their name to Swansea City after the town was awarded ‘City’ status.  They played their matches at the Vetch Field Stadium until 2005, when they moved to the newly built Liberty Stadium.

Swansea came close to winning the English Football League First Division in 1982.  They had a great first half to the season, but their form dipped towards the end of the season where they finished sixth.  This sixth-place finish is however still a club record.  The club suffered a number of relegations in succession and found themselves in the Football League Fourth Division a few seasons later.  They almost got relegated into the Football Conference in 2003, before being promoted to the Premier League in 2011.

Swansea became the first football club outside of England to win the English Football League Cup in 2012-2013.  They thrashed Bradford City 5-0 in the final, the EFL Cup’s highest ever winning margin for the final.  This was Swansea’s first-ever major trophy and gained them qualification for the 2013-2014 UEFA Europa League.  They reached the round of the last 32 but lost to Napoli.  They were relegated to the EFL Championship in 2018.

The Swansea City Supporters Society Ltd owns 20% of the club.  Their main rivals are Cardiff City and matches between the two clubs are known as the South Wales derby.  Their other rivals are Newport County and the two Bristol clubs – Bristol City and Bristol Rovers.