Showing 1–48 of 96 results

The Bundesliga is the top flight professional football league in Germany.  It also referred to as die Fußball-Bundesliga.  It is the most popular football league in the world if you take average stadium attendance into account, which is 45,134.  It is the second highest average attendance of any sports league across the world, only behind the American National Football League which is an impressive 66,151.  The Bundesliga is ranked third best in Europe, based on UEFA coefficient.  Matches from the Bundesliga are screened in over 200 countries across the world.

The league has 18 teams who compete in a round-robin tournament, playing each other home and away throughout the course of the season.  The Bundesliga season starts in August and concludes in May, where teams are relegated to the 2. Bundesliga.  Most games are played over the weekend and occasionally also on weekdays.  All teams qualify for the German Cup, known as the DFB-Pokal.  The victors of the Bundesliga will play in the German Super Cup, known as the DFL-Supercup.  They will play the winners of the DFB-Pokal.

The Bundesliga was formed in Dortmund in 1962, with the first season being played in 1963.  Since it’s inception, 56 clubs have played in the Bundesliga.  The most successful team in Germany is Bayern Munich.  Munich have won the most Bundesliga’s a record 28 times and have been runners up on 10 occasions.  Bayern have won the league for the last seven seasons, going back to 2012.  Other recent winners include Borussia Dortmund, VfL Wolfsburg, VfB Stuttgart and Werder Bremin.

The all-time top goalscorer in the Bundesliga is Gerd Muller with 365 goals.  Muller played most of these games for Bayern Munich between 1964 and 1979.   Most appearances goes to Charly Korbel who played 602 times for Eintract Frankfurt between 1972 and 1991.  He scored 45 goals during this period.